Genebanks conserve living plant samples of the world’s important crops and their wild relatives. They ensure that the genetic resources that underpin our food supply are both secure in the long term for future generations and available in the short term for use by farmers, plant breeders, and researchers. These collections are important to ensure that crop plants which may contain genes to resist disease, provide enhanced nutrition, or survive in changing or harsh environments do not become endangered or extinct over time. The genebank at the International Potato Center (CIP) in Lima, Peru maintains clonal and seed collections of potato, sweetpotato, and Andean roots and tubers (ARTC’s). The genebank is maintained as a global public good under the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (ITPGRFA).  CIP’s germplasm is available for requestors for research, education, and breeding purposes. This germplasm has been used in breeding programs in over 100 countries. CIP is the custodian of the world’s largest in vitro genebank. Further, it houses one of the world’s leading herbarium collections and cryopreservation program.

CIP Genebank, preserving the biodiversity of roots and tubers

CIP Genebank current stats

CIP Genebank Management

Potato Collection

The CIP genebank conserves around of 9K active accessions of potato among cultivated, improved, wild relatives and breeding lines.

Cryopreservation

Cryopreservation is an effective and efficient strategy for the long-term conservation of clonally propagated crops.

Distribution

CIP Genebank has around 8K accessions available for distribution.

Sweetpotato Collection

The CIP genebank conserves around of 7.5K active accessions of sweetpotato among cultivated, improved, wild relatives and breeding lines.

In Vitro Active Collection

The CIP genebank is one of the largest in vitro genebanks in the world and contains the global collection of potato, sweetpotatoes and Andean root and tuber crops (ARTCs).

Herbarium

The Herbarium collection preserves dried herbarium specimens from the wild and cultivated species of potato, sweetpotato, and Andean Root and Tuber (ARTCs)...

Andean Roots and Tubers Collection

The CIP genebank conserves around of 2.5K active accessions of Andean Roots and Tubers crops (ARTCs) (achira, ahipa, arracacha, maca, mashua, mauka, oca, ulluco, and yacon).

In Vitro Breeding Lines

CIP genebank also conserves a collection of potato and sweetpotato breeding lines and genetic stocks in collaboration with the Roots, Tubers and Bananas CRP (RTB).

Phytosanitary

Currently, 84% of the in vitro potato accessions and 85% sweetpotato accessions are certified as virus-free.

Safety Backup

The purpose of safety duplication is to maintain a copy of each accession in a form that is secure and 100% recoverable in the same condition and form as the active collection in case...

Contacts

Vania Azevedo
Head of The Cip Genebank

vania.azevedo@cgiar.org

Julian Soto
Wild Potato Curator

j.v.soto@cgiar.org

Andrea Carrion
Germplasm Acquisition and Distribution Specialist

a.carrion@cgiar.org

René Gómez
Cultivated Potato Curator

r.gomez@cgiar.org

Ana Panta
In vitro Potato and Andean Root and Tuber Crops Conservation Specialist

a.panta@cgiar.org

Reynaldo Solis
In vitro Sweetpotato Conservation Specialist

r.solis@cgiar.org

Genoveva Rossel
Sweetpotato Curator

g.rossel@cgiar.org

Rainer Vollmer
Cryopreservation Officer

r.vollmer@cgiar.org

Maria Roman
Phytosanitary and Quarentine Specialist

m.roman@cgiar.org

Ivan Manrique
Andean Root and Tuber Crops Curator

i.manrique@cgiar.org

Fanny Vargas
Herbarium Specialist

f.vargas@cgiar.org

Gisella Carpio
Genebank Support/Black Box Specialist

g.carpio@cgiar.org